Minneapolis -- Supervalu said Michael Wright, chairman and chief executive officer, has been selected to receive the 1999 Horatio Alger Award. The award is presented annually by the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, which singles out men and women who rise from humble beginnings to notable professional success. Past winners include Sam Walton, Colin Powell, Hank Aaron and Maya Angelou. This year's awards ceremony will be held April 23 in Washington.

REGISTER TO VIEW THIS ARTICLE - Register for a Free Account

WhyRegisterfor FREE?

Salary Survey 2015

Registering for content on Supermarket News will give youINSTANTaccess to invaluable articles and media content that industry professionals rely on. You will have access to our special reports, feature articles, and industry analysis. It’sFREE, easy and quick. What are you waiting for!In addition you will also receive complimentary access to the SN salary survey data tables.

Click here to read the FAQ page if you have any questions (opens in a new window)

Attention Paid Print Subscribers: While you have already been grantedfreeaccess to SNwe ask that youregister now.We promise it will only take a few minutes! Or visit your profile and add your print magazine account number and zip code.

Already registered? here.